Government secrecy ‘awarded’ with Code of Silence

A woman holds a finger in front of her mouth
Photo by Kristina Flour
Pamela Haasen - CICK - SmithersBC | 19-10-2021

The Code of Silence Award for Outstanding Achievement in Government Secrecy is awarded annually by the Centre for Free Expression, Canadian Association of JournalistsCanadian Journalists for Free Expression and News Media Canada.

The award calls public attention to governments and governmental departments and agencies that distinguish themselves by denying public access to information to which the public has a right under access-to-information legislation.

Awards are given annually in four categories:

  • Federal government and federal departments, agencies, boards and commissions;
  • Provincial governments and provincial government departments, boards, agencies, and commissions;
  • Municipal governments and municipal government departments, boards, agencies, and commissions;
  • Police services and law enforcement agencies

CICK News spoke with Brent Jolly, president of the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ), about this year's award nominees and the 20+ year history of this "award" in Canada.

Brent talks about the importance of local journalists, the CAJ's aim to create resources for journalists of all levels, as well as the importance of diversity in newsrooms.

Listen below to that interview with Brent Jolly: